2013 Indianapolis Indians Player Awards


INDIANAPOLIS — The International League’s hit leader, first baseman Matt Hague, has been named the Tribe’s 2013 Most Valuable Player and will receive a custom-made ring courtesy of Windsor Jewelry in a pre-game ceremony at Victory Field tonight in honor of his achievement. In addition, RHP Vic Black (Henry Smock Relief Pitcher of the Year), LHP Kris Johnson (Starting pitcher of the Year), OF Andrew Lambo (Offensive Player of the Year) and C Lucas May (Hustle Award) will all be recognized for their season-long accomplishments.

SS Robert Andino will also be honored on-field as the Indians August Player of the Month, and will receive a custom-made watch courtesy of Windsor Jewelry before tonight’s game.

Hague, who was also named the team’s MVP in 2011, is just the fourth player in Indians history to win two MVP accolades since the award’s inaugural year in 1943. The Tribe’s captain joins infielder Larry Raines (1956, 1960), first baseman Dave Revering (1976-77) and most recently outfielder Dallas Williams (1983, 1987) as the only two-time Most Valuable Players throughout 70 years of the prestigious award.

Click here to read more about the 2013 Player Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s