Indians, Jeff Clement, Hits Cycle For The Record Books

The Indians add one to the record books in their 126 years of professional baseball history. First baseman Jeff Clement hit Victory Field’s third ever cycle in the Saturday, June 2nd game against the Syracuse Chiefs. Clement doubled in the second inning, singled in the third, tagged a ball thrown by Erik Arnesen to left field in the sixth, and quickly following up with the final missing piece of a three base hit in the seventh.

On completing his cycle with a triple, Clement responded saying, “To be honest, I wasn’t even thinking about it. I knew it was deep out there, I saw the hop it took. I probably wouldn’t have gone to third, because I’m not real fast, but since it’s so far out there, I decided to go for it and got into third and didn’t know until the third baseman said something to me that it was for the cycle.”

The final hit completing the cycle was Clement’s 10th career triple, marking his 2012 season with a personal best hitting streak to eight games with a batting average of .419 (13-for-31) with nine runs, three doubles, a triple, five home runs and eight RBI.

“I’m surprised I’ve actually hit 10 triples in my career,” said Clement. “It was a special moment and I’m really humbled by it and it was certainly a fun night.”

During his hitting streak, Clement’s total hits and runs ranked second in the International League. Clement looks to continue his hitting streak as the Indians go on the road to take on the Pawtucket Red Sox in a four-game series before returning home to Victory Field Saturday, June 9th for a four game homestand vs. the Rochester Red Wings.

Leave a Reply

