Day 18 of 25 Days of Giving: Department of Child Services- Books for Youth

Each day, for 25 days during the month of December, the Indians will highlight one community partner organization and how you can give back this holiday season. For more information, visit the 25 Days of Giving main post.

Day 18: Department of Child Services- Books for Youth

Help DCS put books in the hands of Indiana’s Foster Youth.

In 2006 the Indianapolis Colts announced a partnership with the Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) for the “Books for Youth” program, presented by Cargo Services. Through this program, the Colts and the DCS will provide every foster child in Indiana with their own personal library of 25 books.

On any given day in Marion County alone, more than 1,200 children are in the foster care system and too often they leave their belongings behind when they move. The Colts and DCS want to change that by helping place 25 age-appropriate books per child into the hands of foster youth and young adults and are asking for community support to make a smart handoff to Indiana’s youth.

To date we have collected more than 500,000 books for “Books for Youth!” Below are some ways you can helps us continue our mission of providing EVERY foster child in Indiana with their own backpack filled with 25 books.

Host your own book drive:

To find out how you can host a book drive in your community, visit http://www.in.gov/dcs/2342.htm.

You may also drop off new or gently used books for children of all ages at any Indianapolis Marion County Library branch or Department of Child Services office. For a listing of branch locations, please click here.

 

Information and image courtesy of http://www.colts.com/community/literacy/books-for-youth.html.

One thought on “Day 18 of 25 Days of Giving: Department of Child Services- Books for Youth

  1. thanks I unplugged it and set it up sremwheoe else. I retested the FTP and the Live Feed is working. Maybe the wifi signal was too weak in the other location. I’ll experiment some more.Read an article about your new venture in Bloomberg(I think) and the timing was perfect. I had just purchased this camera since I have the IP Camera app on my Droid, but I could not get the port forwarding to work. I think an app for mobile phones would be good to have, if not essential. I tried the sensr site with my Droid and things did not work as well as the full up site on my desktop. I’m probably like a lot of other people regarding mobile apps. I tend to use my Droid more than my desktop.

Leave a Reply

